notre équipe

Andreas

Guide Photo of Guide Andreas

J’ai grandi dans une banlieue d’Athènes appelé Nea Smyrni. Ses premiers habitants étaient tous des réfugiés d’Asie Mineure. Les gens du quartier sont très fiers de leurs origines ; ils respectent l’histoire car la plupart de leurs ancêtres ont péri ou ont dû émigrer en 1922-1924, à la fin du conflit entre la Grèce et la Turquie. Un grand symbole de Nea Smyrni, c’est son club sportif, Panionios. Je suis moi-même un grand fan de l’équipe !

A 20 ans, je suis parti faire mes études en Grande Bretagne. Une fois mon diplôme de gestion en poche, j’ignorais complètement ce que je voulais faire plus tard. Mon but était de rester à Londres et d’y commencer ma carrière. Pendant ma recherche d’emploi, un évènement familial sérieux s’est produit. Ma grand-mère bien-aimée a été diagnostiquée d’un cancer. C’était un choc. J’ai dû retourner en Grèce afin de partager les derniers moments de sa vie avec elle. Cette période a duré quelques mois, pendant lesquels j’envoyais des CV et répondais à des offres d’emploi au Royaume Uni. Un jour, notre chère grand-mère a quitté ce monde. Il était donc temps que je retourne à Londres pour continuer ce que j’avais entrepris.

C’est vers ce moment-là qu’un bon ami m’a suggéré : “Puisque tu te trouves à Athènes, pourquoi n’envoies-tu pas un CV au club de Panionios avant de partir ? Ils changent leur équipe de direction et ils cherchent du personnel ». Je ne m’attendais pas à grand-chose, mais j’ai quand-même envoyé mon CV. Deux jours avant mon départ, mon téléphone a sonné! Panionios m’offrait un poste. Le job idéal pour moi ! Sans la maladie de ma grand-mère, mon premier emploi n’aurait jamais été ce job de rêve! Quelle contradiction : qu’une énorme perte m’ait apporté ce fabuleux cadeau!

Photo of Fondatrice Tina.

Tina

Fondatrice

"En 2010, la crise a frappé la Grèce et le pays a sombré dans le chaos. Je me suis trouvée sans travail, sans voiture, sans assurance maladie et la perspective d’un nouvel emploi était très, très éloignée."

Lire la suite
Photo of Créateur de voyages Elissavet.

Elissavet

Créateur de voyages

"J’ai un souvenir, j’avais à peine 17 ans, et une amie m’a alors demandé si j’avais des plans pour l’avenir. Franchement, je n’en avais aucune idée. Je n’avais que des images dispersées de moi-même dans le futur. Comme des instantanés. La seule chose que ces images avaient en commun, c’était qu’il s’agissait toujours de pays et de cultures lointaines. Pendant mon enfance, je rêvais souvent de la vie à l’étranger. Cette idée d’un changement continu et de vivre de nouvelles expériences m’attirait, m’enthousiasmait."

Lire la suite
Photo of créateur de voyages Tess.

Tess

créateur de voyages

"Tess provient du nom byzantin Theodosia; en grec ancien, cela signifie “Donnée par Dieu”. Mon inspiration derrière ce choix de diminutif ne vient pas de Tess d'Urberville de Thomas Hardy, mais d’un film léger des années ’80 avec Harrison Ford et Melanie Griffith (qui incarne Tess dans ce film); je plaisante souvent à propos du fait qu’un film Hollywoodien m’a aidé dans mon effort d’autopromotion à une période difficile de ma vie."

Lire la suite
Photo of Guide Tania.

Tania

Guide

"J’avais presque cinq ans et je participais à une fête scolaire. Vêtue d’un costume traditionnel comme tous les autres membres de la "troupe", j’attendais patiemment mon tour pour réciter les vers d’un poème que j’avais appris par cœur à grand-peine. Mon tour de monter sur scène vint enfin. Mais, dès le moment où je suis passée derrière le micro, j’ai eu un trou de mémoire et ma bouche s’est séchée. Des larmes coulaient le long de mes joues. Complètement terrifiée, j’ai jeté un coup d’œil à mes camarades, réunis en coulisses. Vêtus de leurs costumes rigolos, ils attendaient leur tour pour interpréter leurs rôles."

Lire la suite
Photo of Guide Vassia.

Vassia

Guide

"Il y a un livre que j’aime beaucoup. Il se termine par cette phrase : "il n’est jamais trop tard pour avoir une enfance heureuse". Je n’avais que 20 ans quand je l’ai lu, et mon enfance avait été relativement heureuse. Mais j’ai tendance à prendre les choses écrites dans les livres très au sérieux. Pourquoi l’auteur avait-il choisi de finir un livre sur une histoire d’amour improbable avec cette phrase-là?

C’est à cette époque-là que j’ai commencé à voyager."

Lire la suite
Photo of Guide Niko a.k.a. Rude.

Niko a.k.a. Rude

Guide

"C’était vers la fin du collège que j’ai découvert l’art du graffiti, même si ma fascination pour le dessin et les arts remontait déjà à ma petite enfance. Mon nouveau hobby commença rapidement à occuper une grande partie de mon temps "précieux" que j’aurais dû consacrer à étudier à l’école et faire mes devoirs. Je compris qu’il était temps de passer à l’action."

Lire la suite
Photo of Guide Christina.

Christina

Guide

"Malgré mon amour pour la Grèce, à mon retour après plusieurs années à l'étranger, je n’avais pas le sentiment d’y appartenir. J'étais déroutée par les gens -je ne les comprenais vraiment pas- et j'ai songé repartir à nouveau. J'ai changé plusieurs fois de travail avant de me rendre compte que je n'étais pas à la recherche de l'emploi parfait, c'était le changement lui-même, le sentiment de voyager au sein de ma propre vie que je recherchais."

Lire la suite
Photo of Guide Zoe.

Zoe

Guide

For the most part, my adult life was spent drawing lines.  Working in architecture and urban planning meant that I spent most of time observing cities from above, ground plans and master plans, orthographic projections, bird’s eye views.

 

Lire la suite

"We sampled food and drinks from about 10 different places within an easy walking distance from the central square. Everything we tried was amazing!"

Justin G

"A perfect day. Alternative Athens is very fortunate to have such gifted guides!"

taiter – Orkney

"My family and I joined our guide on an unforgettable night in Athens exploring the LGBT nightlife and getting to know the local community, listening to great music music, dancing, laughing and becoming friends."

NNeumann923

our team

Andreas

Guide Photo of Guide Andreas

I grew up in this neighborhood of Athens. It's called Nea Smyrni. The first settlers here were refugees from Asia Minor. People in our neighbourhood are proud of where they come from; they respect history because many of their grandparents or great-grandparents were lost or had to emigrate following the end of the conflict between Greece and Turkey. One of the symbols of the town is it's Sporting Club, called Panionios. I also am a huge fan of them!

At about 20 i was studying in the UK. Finishing my degree in business administration, I really didn't know what I wanted to follow. My objective goal was to stay in London and start a career there! While job hunting after I had graduated a serious family incident occurred. My beloved grandmother was diagnosed with cancer. It was a shock. I had to return to Greece to be with her for the last period of her life. That period went on for a few months, in which I was also sending cv's to many job offers in the UK. The day came that our (very much) loved grandmother, left this world. It was also my time to return to London and continue what I was doing there before I left.

It was about then, that a good friend proposed.. "Since you are here, before you go, why don't you drop your CV at Panionios. They are building a new management team and looking for staff." I did not really put much hope in it, but sent it. A couple of days before leaving, my phone rang! Panionios was going to offer me a job, a dream job for me! My first job would be somewhere I would have never dreamt of even being if it were not for my grandmother’s illness and loss. It was such a contradiction. A huge loss brought an amazing gift.

Photo of Founder Tina.

Tina

Founder

"In 2010, the Greek crisis hit and the country went into freefall. I was left without a job, a car or even medical insurance, and there was little perspective of finding a new job any time soon."

Read more
Photo of Travel Designer Elissavet.

Elissavet

Travel Designer

"I remember when I was about 17, my friend asked me what my plans for life were. Sincerely, I had no clue. I had some scattered images in my head of how I imagine myself. Like photographs. The only thing in common, I remember, was that all these images were in some far lands, with unusual landscapes and distant cultures. Living abroad was something I use to fantasize a lot as a kid. It was a constant change and an excitement over new things that attracted me."

Read more
Photo of Head of Travel Design Tess.

Tess

Head of Travel Design

"Tess comes from the Byzantine name Theodosia; in ancient Greek, this means “God gives”. It came to me as an inspiration not from Thomas Hardy’s Tess of the D’Urberville’s, but from a much more superficial 80s movie with Harrison Ford and Melanie Griffith (Tess in this movie); I often joke that a Hollywood movie helped me in my self-marketing effort in a time of need."

Read more
Photo of Guide Tania.

Tania

Guide

“I was about five, and I was taking part in a school celebration. Dressed in a traditional costume like all the other members of my “troupe”, I was waiting to recite the lines of the poem I had painstakingly learnt by heart. At last, my turn came. But when I stood behind the microphone, my mind went blank and my mouth went dry. Tears welled up in my eyes. Terrified, I glanced over at my classmates who, grouped behind the wings and dressed in their own slightly silly costumes, were waiting to act their part."

Read more
Photo of Guide Vassia.

Vassia

Guide

"There is a book I like a lot. Its final sentence reads: “It is never too late to have a happy childhood”. I was in my early twenties when I read it and my childhood had been relatively happy. But I tend to take stuff written in books very seriously. Why had the author chosen to end a book about an improbable love story with this sentence?

It was around that time that I started to travel."

Read more
Photo of Guide Niko a.k.a. Rude.

Niko a.k.a. Rude

Guide

"It must have been at the end of middle school when I discovered graffiti, although my fascination with drawing and the arts had been with me a lot longer. My new hobby began stealing ‘precious’ time I could have used for studying for school. I realised that action had to be taken..."

Read more
Photo of Guide Christina.

Christina

Guide

"Although I loved Greece, when I moved back here after spending so much time away, I didn’t feel that I belonged in the country that I loved. The people confused me – I really didn’t understand them – and I thought about getting out again. I changed jobs over and over before I realized that it wasn’t the right job I was looking for, it was the change itself, the feeling of travelling within my own life."

Read more
Photo of Guide Zoe.

Zoe

Guide

For the most part, my adult life was spent drawing lines.  Working in architecture and urban planning meant that I spent most of time observing cities from above, ground plans and master plans, orthographic projections, bird’s eye views.

 

Read more

"We went on the LGBT Nightlife Tour and it was incredible! It is always a struggle to find the real LGBT hot spots in a new place and this tour helped us do exactly that. Marlene was incredible."

Jessica G

"This tour was one of the highlights of our amazing Greek vacation. Highly recommend this tour and would suggest doing it at the beginning of your trip. Amazing!!!"

gblody2010- Winsconsin

"Our guide was excellent. He not only took us to try some great food, but showed us parts of Athens that we could not have found ourselves. I would recommend this tour to others."

Paul M