rues et saveurs athéniennes

Partez à la découverte du vrai visage d'Athènes d'aujourd'hui et croquez à pleine dents dans ses mets préférés!

Durée

5-6 heures

Quand

Tous les jours, sur demande

Langues

Français, Anglais

Réservez en ligne
Athènes aujourd'hui est le produit d’un unique mélange de cultures à travers les siècles, dont il reste de multiples traces autour de nous -dans les rues comme dans les assiettes de la cité. Cette visite combinée vous permet de voir et goûter cet héritage riche et complexe qui a donné naissance à la culture et la cuisine grecques contemporaines.

Cette Visite s’effectue à Titre Privé

Nos visites privées peuvent être réservées tels que décrites ici, où être adaptées sur mesure spécialement pour vous.

Les point forts

  • Explorez des quartiers différents d'Athènes, des bastions de la classe ouvrière aux grands boulevards bourgeois.
  • Apprenez comment Athènes s’est transformée de petite bourgade de 4.000 habitants en capitale moderne, sous l’ombre de son glorieux passé.
  • Plongez dans la culture culinaire grecque. Les parfums et la variété des produits dans les épiceries fines et commerces de bouche, ainsi que l’agitation des marchés en plein air d'Athènes sont garantis de réveiller vos papilles !
  • Dégustez d'uniques spécialités locales, d’huiles d’olives de petits producteurs jusqu’aux célèbres mezzes grecs et la délicieuse bougatsa (feuilleté à la crème pâtissière).

En detail

A bien des égards, Athènes est en fait quatre villes en une: la cité antique, la ville ottomane, la ville néoclassique et la capitale moderne. Pour pouvoir les découvrir toutes, il faut savoir où aller, où regarder et… où manger -et c’est là que votre guide entre en scène.

Du bâtiment du Parlement sur la place Syntagma au quartier chic de Kolonaki en passant par le quartier contestataire d’Exarchia, vous ferez étape à des endroits spéciaux pour goûter aux produits locaux, comme l’huile d’olive, le miel, le fromage, le vin, le vinaigre, la liqueur et les patisseries, provenant tous de petits producteurs venant de toutes les régions de Grèce. Ensuite, vous goûterez un classique à déguster sur le pouce, le koulouri, puis vous savourerez une tasse d’authentique café grec dans un merveilleux vieux café. Puis, préparez-vous à vous plonger dans l’atmosphère tapageuse de la halle centrale d’Athènes; ici, bouchers et poissonniers haranguent les passants pour attirer leur attention et leur vendre leurs produits. Un peu plus bas, vous vous rendrez dans la célèbre rue abritant les marchands d’épices d’Athènes, bordée d’herboristeries et épiceries traditionnelles, où se vendent également charcuteries spéciales et d’autres délicatesses locales.

La suite de votre balade vous mènera dans les charmantes ruelles de Psirri, un quartier en pleine réinvention –pour la plus grande partie du 20ème siècle, ce fut un quartier populaire et ouvrier; aujourd’hui Psirri constitue l’une des destinations les plus branchées pour y manger et y boire; pourtant, dans le dédale de ses ruelles, les traces d’un passé plus simple sont encore évidentes.

Ne manquez pas de découvrir les influences ottomanes dans cette partie de la ville, alors que vous faites un pause sucrée dans une des nombreuses pâtisseries de quartier; ensuite, votre balade se poursuivra dans une charmante ancienne taverne offrant des plats grecs traditionnels, afin d’y goûter une sélection de délicieux mezzes grecs (comme les tapas, mais meilleur!).

Votre balade se terminera à Monastiraki, le marché aux puces d’Athènes, un bric-à-brac résumant à la perfection les multiples facettes d’Athènes. A la fin de cette balade, vous aurez eu un bel aperçu (et goût!) de la vraie âme d’Athènes, une ville riche de milliers d’histoires qui remontent à l’Antiquité, située à cheval entre l’Orient et l’Occident.

Infos pratiques

Durée
5-6 heures
Rythme de marche
Facile
Langues
Anglais, Français
Quand
Tous les jours, sur demande

Prix

  • Sur demande; tour à titre privé uniquement

Sont inclus

  • Guide professionel francophone ou anglophone
  • Toutes les dégustations prévus durant la visite

Ne sont pas inclus

  • Toute nourriture ou boisson prise en supplément

Notes

  • Si vous souffrez d'une quelconque allergie ou intolérance alimentaires, ainsi que si vous suivez un régime alimentaire particulier, veuillez nous informer au préalable avant toute réservation.
  • Point de rencontre: Place Syntagma. Des instructions détaillées vous seront envoyées sur réservation.
  • Visite non disponible les 1er, 2 et 6 Janvier, 25 Mars, 1er Mai, 28 Octobre, 25 & 26 Décembre, Dimanche et Lundi de Pâques.
rues et saveurs athéniennes gallery image 1
rues et saveurs athéniennes gallery image 2
rues et saveurs athéniennes gallery image 3
rues et saveurs athéniennes gallery image 4
rues et saveurs athéniennes gallery image 5
rues et saveurs athéniennes gallery image 6
rues et saveurs athéniennes gallery image 7
rues et saveurs athéniennes gallery image 8
rues et saveurs athéniennes gallery image 9
rues et saveurs athéniennes gallery image 10

Vous aimerez:

Explorer la ville à travers ses saveurs préférées

rues et saveurs athéniennes
Réservez en ligne

"We learned a lot about Athens life and Greek history while enjoying some delicious drinks. Antonis takes you to places that you would only know about from a local. We can not recommend it enough!!"

Bryan M

"Christina took us to places one would just walk by and never know they were there. It is a great tour to see some of the unique details of Athens. Well worth the time and the cost is very reasonable."

Russell1078

"This tour is an excellent opportunity to see and learn about a different Greece than the one in most tourist books. Highly recommend."

Vincenzp

The City Streets and Great Eats Tour

Find today’s real Athens and take a big bite of the foods that it loves!

Duration

5-6 hours

When

Daily, upon request

Languages

English, French

Book now
Athens came together through a mixture of cultures across the centuries, and there’s still a lot of that history around, in the food as well as in the neighborhoods – this combination tour lets you see and taste your way through the complex heritage that created contemporary Greek culture and cuisine.

This is a Private Tour

Our private tours can be booked as featured here, or be customised especially for you.

Highlights

  • Explore different neighborhoods, ranging from working-class havens to boutique boulevards.
  • Hear how Athens was transformed from a town into a modern city, all in the shadow of its own ancient glory.
  • Immerse yourself in the world of Greek food. The smells and the range of products in specialty food shops and the bustle of open-air markets will all make your taste buds sing!
  • Sample unique local delicacies, from small-batch olive oils and feta cheese to scrumptious Greek meze and bougatsa (cream-filled phyllo pastry).

 

What you can expect

In many ways, Athens is four different cities: the ancient, the Ottoman, the neoclassical and the modern city. Discovering each of them requires knowing where to go, what to notice and what to eat, which is where your guide comes in.   

From the Parliament building in Syntagma Square to the posh neighborhood of Kolonaki area and the rebellious downtown district of Exarchia, you’ll stop off at special spots to taste local products like olive oil, honey, cheese, wine, vinegar, liquor, and sweets, all made by small producers from all over Greece. Next, it’s a treat from the street, as you sample a koulouri, one of the all-time classic snacks on the go and then a cup of authentic Greek coffee in a wonderful old café.  After this, get ready to duck into a boisterous visit to the central fish and meat market, where butchers and fishmongers compete for the attention of Athens’ serious food shoppers. Around the corner is the famous spice street of Athens, lined with traditional herb shops that also carry amazing specialty meats and other traditional delicacies.

In the Psirri area, you’ll see a neighborhood that is still in the middle of reinventing itself – one of the poorer working class areas of Athens for nearly all of the 20th century, it is now one of the hottest food and drink destinations, but everywhere in its narrow streets there are reminders of a simpler past.

Don’t miss the Ottoman influences in this part of the city as you stop for a sweet bite at one of the many pastry shops in this area, and then it’s off to a charming little taverna that specializes in traditional Greek dishes to try a selection of scrumptious Greek meze (like tapas, only better).

Our tour ends in Monastiraki, at Athens’ flea market, a perfect amalgam of everything Athens has to offer. By now, we hope that you’ll have seen (and tasted!) the true soul of Athens, a city with a thousand stories still standing, as it has since ancient times, right on the border between the East and the West.

Practical info

Duration
5-6 hours
Walking pace
Easy
Languages
English, French
When
Daily, upon request

Prices

  • Upon request; tour available on a private basis only

What's included

  • Professional English or French speaking guide
  • Food tastings, as described in the tour

Not included

  • Food or drinks not included in the tour’s description

Notes

  • If you suffer from any food allergies or have special dietary requirements, you are kindly requested to contact us in advance before booking this tour.
  • The meeting point of this tour is Syntagma Square. Detailed meeting instructions will be sent to you upon booking.
  • This tour does not operate on January 1st, 2nd & 6th, December 25th & 26th, March 25th, May 1st, October 28th, and Easter Sunday & Monday.
The City Streets and Great Eats Tour gallery image 1
The City Streets and Great Eats Tour gallery image 2
The City Streets and Great Eats Tour gallery image 3
The City Streets and Great Eats Tour gallery image 4
The City Streets and Great Eats Tour gallery image 5
The City Streets and Great Eats Tour gallery image 6
The City Streets and Great Eats Tour gallery image 7
The City Streets and Great Eats Tour gallery image 8
The City Streets and Great Eats Tour gallery image 9
The City Streets and Great Eats Tour gallery image 10

You'll love:

Exploring the city through its favorite flavors

The City Streets and Great Eats Tour
Book now

"We did the night tour with Antonis on our first day in Athens - what a fabulous way to start our trip! Antonis took us to five stellar bars that we would definitely not have found on our own - unique drinks, amazing food and lovely atmosphere at each of them. Antonis himself seems to know everybody at every bar - not surprising given what a fun and awesome guy he is! We cannot recommend the tour with Antonis enough - he is awesome and the tour is an absolute must do in Athens!!"

sdurg

"This tour is an excellent opportunity to see and learn about a different Greece than the one in most tourist books. Highly recommend."

Vincenzp

"Tour was awesome! Nice and intimate and Nikos was an awesome guide. So much knowledge about the city and street art and food!! Highly recommended :-)"

Colette