Cap Sounion et la Riviera athénienne

Une côte idyllique et un temple antique admirable!

Durée

8 heures

Quand

tous les jours, sur demande

Langues

french, english

Réservez en ligne
Pour tout athénien qui se respecte, la mer, qui n’est jamais loin, est toujours présente à l’esprit! Vous comprendrez mieux pourquoi lorsque vos guides vous feront visiter la somptueuse côte d’Apollon -ou riviera athénienne- avec ses plages branchées et ses cafés en bord de mer, et que vous aurez visité le Temple de Poséidon, au Cap Sounion, un site archéologique magnifique, perché au sommet d’un promontoire qui surplombe la mer Egée.

Cette Visite s’effectue à Titre Privé

Nos visites privées peuvent être réservées tels que décrites ici, où être adaptées sur mesure spécialement pour vous.

Les point forts

  • La visite du Temple de Poséidon au Cap Sounion, un temple sensationnel du 5e siècle av. J-C., situé dans un cadre à couper le souffle au sommet d’une falaise.
  • Goûtez à la vie de plage sur la côte préférée des Athéniens, et déjeunez les pieds dans l’eau, dans une taverne au bord de la mer.
  • Admirez l’immense et impressionnant Centre Culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos, œuvre de l’architecte Renzo Piano et tout nouveau haut lieu de la scène culturelle et architecturale de la ville
  • Découvrez le dépaysant Lac de Vouliagmeni, un endroit méconnu et un lieu de cures thermales grâce à ses sources naturelles d’eau chaude.
  • Plongez dans la merveilleuse mer Egée avec une baignade bien méritée juste sous le temple.

En detail

Les Athéniens adorent la mer. Avec cette excursion, vous comprendrez pourquoi. Mais avant d’atteindre la côte, vous ferez étape au Centre Culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos, le nouvel édifice impressionnant de la ville, qui abrite la Bibliothèque Nationale et l’Opéra National. Le Centre Culturel, merveille d’ingénierie dessinée par l’architecte Renzo Piano, est situé dans un superbe parc planté d’oliviers et bordé d’un bassin long de 400 mètres qui valent le détour.

De là, votre périple côtier débutera avec la marina Flisvos, où vous aurez la chance d’admirer certains des yachts les plus impressionnants de la mer Egée. Ensuite, c’est parti vers les banlieues sud-est d’Athènes qui bordent la mer, pour avoir un aperçu du mode de vie sur la Riviera athénienne.

En chemin, vous vous arrêterez aussi au Lac de Vouliagmeni, où le mélange naturel d’eau de source et d’eau de mer crée un environnement riche en minéraux, habitat naturel de petits poissons-docteurs (Garra rufa) qui vous mordillent les doigts de pied pour en manger les peaux mortes ! Le lac a résulté de l’effondrement d’une grotte, et compte de nombreux tunnels sous-marins menant à l’intérieur de la montagne, à tel point qu’ils n’ont jamais été entièrement cartographiés.

Ensuite, viendra l’heure du déjeuner, et vous aurez l’occasion de manger littéralement les pieds dans l’eau dans une taverne traditionnelle sur la plage, où vous goûterez des spécialités grecques avec le bruit des vagues en fond sonore. Puis vous vous dirigerez vers le Temple de Poséidon, fabuleux site du 5e siècle av. J-C., perché sur le sommet du Cap Sounion. La vue y est à couper le souffle, et il est facile de comprendre pourquoi ce site fut choisi par les grecs anciens pour y vénérer le dieu de la mer. Célébré par les plus grands écrivains romantiques du 19e siècle, tels Chateaubriand, Lamartine, ou Byron, gardez un œil pendant votre visite et essayez de découvrir le petit vandalisme de ce dernier : il a gravé son nom sur une des colonnes du temple.

La mer sous vos pieds vous donnera peut-être l’envie de descendre vers la petite plage en contrebas du temple. Si vous vous décidez à vous y baigner – vous aurez le temps, une étape y est prévue- essayez de nagez un peu au large, retournez-vous et regardez vers le haut : vous aurez un point de vue unique sur le temple. Ce moment-là est idéal pour que vous ayez une petite pensée pour le vieux Roi Egée qui, en mourant, donna son nom à la mer qui baigne la Grèce orientale et les Cyclades. Selon la légende, Egée, roi d’Athènes et père du héros Thésée, se jeta dans la mer du haut de ces falaises, quand il vit le bateau de son fils retournant d’une aventure dangereuse en portant des voiles noires : le croyant à tort mort.

Cette excursion vous offre une autre option; en fixant le départ un peu plus tard, vous pourrez admirer le magnifique coucher de soleil depuis le Cap Sounion et le site du Temple –une expérience unique dans un endroit où la nature et l’histoire fusionnent pour vous offrir un souvenir inoubliable.

Itinéraire

  • Visite guidée du Centre Culturel de la Fondation Stavros Niarchos
  • Visite guidée de la marina Flisvos
  • Visite guidée du Lac de Vouliagmeni
  • Visite au Cap Sounion et au Temple de Poséidon
  • Baignade au Cap Sounion -ou à une autre plage
  • Transport par véhicule privé climatisé

Infos pratiques

Durée
8 heures
Langues
english, french
Quand
tous les jours, sur demande

Sont inclus

  • Accompagnateur professionnel francophone ou anglophone
  • Transport privé par véhicule climatisé
  • Départ et retour depuis/à votre hotel
  • Essence, péages et impôts

Ne sont pas inclus

  • Nourriture ou boissons
  • Tickets d’entrée
Cap Sounion et la Riviera athénienne gallery image 1
Cap Sounion et la Riviera athénienne gallery image 2
Cap Sounion et la Riviera athénienne gallery image 3
Cap Sounion et la Riviera athénienne gallery image 4
Cap Sounion et la Riviera athénienne gallery image 5
Cap Sounion et la Riviera athénienne gallery image 6
Cap Sounion et la Riviera athénienne gallery image 7
Cap Sounion et la Riviera athénienne gallery image 8

Vous aimerez:

Vivre une pleine journée au bord de la mer et admirer un fabuleux temple antique

Cap Sounion et la Riviera athénienne
Réservez en ligne

"This tour was outstanding! Our guide, Andreas, showed us a variety of bars that we would never have found on our own. He was very open to any kinds of questions and made the tour interesting and informative at the same time. I would definitely recommend taking this tour and discovering the nightlife of Athens. The city and people have an incredible and positive energy that is very unique and worth seeing."

mullydad

"We learned a lot about Athens life and Greek history while enjoying some delicious drinks. Antonis takes you to places that you would only know about from a local. We can not recommend it enough!!"

Bryan M

"My children are avid Percy Jackson fans, obsessed with Greek gods and myths, so seeing where the stories had come from was a real highlight for them. And then there were the turtles in the cemetery.... seriously!"

Claire C

Beyond Athens

Cape Sounio and the Athens Riviera

A gorgeous shore and a stunning Greek temple!

Duration

8 hours

When

Mon-Sun, upon request

Languages

english, french

Book now
Don’t let the sea escape you, because Athens is all about the sea! You’ll know why once your guides have shown you around the coolest cafés and hottest beaches of the city’s Riviera and given you all the lowdown on the Temple of Poseidon at Sounion, a beautiful ancient site perched high over the Aegean.

This is a Private Tour

Our private tours can be booked as featured here, or be customised especially for you.

Highlights

  • You’ll see the newest star on the city’s architectural and cultural scene, the very big and very impressive Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center, as well as the wonder that is Lake Vouliagmeni, a natural spa with year-round warm water
  • You’ll get a real taste of beach life along the city’s favorite coastline, and more than a taste of lunch at a seaside taverna
  • No one should miss the Temple of Poseidon at Sounion, a stunning 5th century BC structure in a picture-perfect cliff-top setting
  • Experience Aegean bliss with a swim at the beach just below the temple

What you can expect

Athenians love the sea. And in this tour you’ll understand every bit of why. But even before the tour reaches the seashore, there’s a stop to be made at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center, the newest great edifice in the city and home to both the National Library and the National Opera. The Center, an engineering achievement designed by the renowned architect Renzo Piano, is set in an enormous park filled with olive trees and flanked by a 400-meter reflecting pool. Together, the building and the park achieve an aesthetic balance that’s both soothing and invigorating.

From there, you’ll head along the shore to the Flisvos Marina, where you’ll get a chance to see some of the Aegean’s most impressive yachts. Then it’s on to the seaside suburbs heading east, where you’ll see what life is like on the Athens Riviera.

You’ll also make a stop at Lake Vouliagmeni, where fresh spring water and saltwater mix to create a mineral-rich environment that is home to those funny little doctor fish (Garra rufa) that nibble your toes clean for you! The lake is, in fact, a collapsed cave, and there are underwater tunnels leading so far back under the mountain that they’ve never been fully mapped.

After lunch at a traditional taverna right on the beach, where the fish on your plate is only a few meters from where it used to live and the lapping waves provide a soft soundtrack to your meal, you’ll head to the Temple of Poseidon, a marvelous 5th-century archaeological site perched on the very top of Cape Sounion. The view here is tremendous, and it’s obvious why this spot of land was chosen as a site where people could worship the god of the sea. Don’t forget to look for Lord Byron’s bit of 19th-century vandalism – the British poet’s name is chiseled into a column here.

With the sea right there at your feet, you may be tempted to head down to the little beach beneath the temple. If you do go in the water, make sure you swim out a little, turn back and look up – it’s a unique viewing point for one of the world’s most graceful monuments. And while you’re taking that look, spare a thought for old King Aegeus, the man who, in death, gave his name to the whole of the Aegean Sea. Father to the hero Theseus, King Aegeus of Athens threw himself to his death from those cliffs, it is said, when he spied his son’s ship returning from a particularly dangerous undertaking with black sails raised and drew the incorrect conclusion that his son was dead.

There’s another option for this tour; if you leave later in the day, you can enjoy the sunset from the site of the temple itself – this lets you catch the last rays of the sun over the water from the ideal spot where geography and history work together to give you a timeless memory.

Itinerary

  • Transfer by private a/c vehicle from Athens to Sounio
  • Guided visit of Stavros Niarchos Cultural Foundation
  • Guided visit of Flisvos Marina
  • Guided visit of Lake Vouliagmeni
  • Visit of Cape Sounio & Temple of Poseidon
  • Swim at Cape Sounio or another beach
  • Transfer by private a/c vehicle from Cape Sounio to Athens

Practical info

Duration
8 hours
Languages
english, french
When
Mon-Sun, upon request

What's included

  • Professional English or French speaking tour leader
  • Private transfer by a/c vehicle
  • Hotel pick up & drop off
  • Petrol, tolls and taxes

Not included

  • Food or drinks
  • Entry fees
Cape Sounio and the Athens Riviera gallery image 1
Cape Sounio and the Athens Riviera gallery image 2
Cape Sounio and the Athens Riviera gallery image 3
Cape Sounio and the Athens Riviera gallery image 4
Cape Sounio and the Athens Riviera gallery image 5
Cape Sounio and the Athens Riviera gallery image 6
Cape Sounio and the Athens Riviera gallery image 7
Cape Sounio and the Athens Riviera gallery image 8

You'll love:

A day at the seaside and the amazing cliff-top temple

Cape Sounio and the Athens Riviera
Book now

"We had Alexandra as our tour guide and she was fantastic! She made the myths and legends so interesting and was very informative. She kept it entertaining, historical and relevant to all the places we visited"

Emily F

"We were able to get a good sense of the city as well as make some good connections with a variety of shops and eateries that we returned to later on. Diana was an amazingly energetic guide, very engaging and accommodating. Bring comfy shoes and an open mind and you will have an unforgettable day in Athens :)"

Boris S-California

"We went on the LGBT Nightlife Tour and it was incredible! It is always a struggle to find the real LGBT hot spots in a new place and this tour helped us do exactly that. Marlene was incredible."

Jessica G